Patient Data Exchange and ADT Notifications

The ability of a hospital to share ADT data throughout the care community is critical, and now required, for improving interoperability and transitions of care for patients. These types of alerts to providers will empower them to proactively monitor their patients throughout the entire continuum of care, significantly improving patient outcomes and care continuity, while reducing preventable readmissions.


“Interoperability is the cornerstone of Summit Healthcare. Our technology and service teams have implemented numerous methods of communicating with physicians to support hospital’s coordination of care processes. As the CMS Ruling deadline approaches, Summit Healthcare’s Provider Alert solution seamlessly address the Admission, Discharge, and Transfer Event Notification requirements. Summit is proud to be on the leading edge of this initiative with implementations of the solution already in our client base.”

– Matt Baker, Technical Product Manager at Summit Healthcare

According to the new CMS Rule

Admission, Discharge, and Transfer Event Notifications: CMS is modifying Conditions of Participation (CoPs) to require hospitals, including psychiatric hospitals and CAHs, to send electronic patient event notifications of a patient’s admission, discharge, and/or transfer to another healthcare facility or to another community provider or practitioner.

Deadline: May 1, 2021

Implications for Hospitals

What ADT Notifications are Required?

Events Notifications for Patient’s admission, discharge or transfer.  Specifically, notifications on a patient’s:

  • Inpatient
  • Emergency department
  • Observation admission/registration
  • Transfer
  • Discharge
  • From outpatient to inpatient
    • Unit Transfers are not required
  • ED Presentation and Discharge

Who Should ADT Notifications be Sent to?

Notifications must be sent to providers for the purposes of:

  • Treatment
    • Primary Care Practices (PCP)
    • Accountable Care Organizations (ACO)
    • Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC)
    • Physician Organizations (PO)
    • Independent Physician Associations (IPA)
    • Multi-speciality Practices
  • Care coordination
    • Post-acute care service providers and suppliers:
      • Skilled Nursing Facilities
      • Home Health Agencies
      • Hospices
  • Quality improvement
    • Practitioners, identified by the patient as primarily responsible for his or her care


Who Must Comply?

  • Hospitals Participating in Medicare and Medicaid
  • Psychiatric Hospitals
  • Critical Access Hospitals

The facility must have an EMR or Administrative system with the ability to send notifications